In State Info by TSL Admin

Primary Sale Type: Tax Deed
Secondary Type(s): OTC
Sale Date(s): Varies: Set by taxing jurisdiction
Bid Type: Varies: Set by taxing jurisdiction
Rate of Return: NA
Redemption Period: NA
Statute Section(s): AK Statutes - Title 29, CH 45, Artical 2
State Website:

State Overview:

There are 16 Boroughs and 11 Geographical Census Areas in Alaska used in place of counties.

County Directory

The two most populous areas in Alaska are the Municipality of Anchorage (260,000+) and Fairbanks North Star Borough (82,000+.)

Search Demographics:

Alaska is classified as a Tax Deed state which has boroughs rather than counties. Every year the tax collector will issue tax lien certificates on delinquent properties and send them directly to the county for filing. One year from the time the tax lien was originally issued, a tax sale will be eligible. The borough then may sell the property in accordance with the procedures set by the individual municipalities. A list of properties available for the upcoming auction will be listed in the local newspaper prior to the sale. The tax sale may be referred to as the tax deed sale, land sale, or tax foreclosure sale, depending on the borough or city municipalities.

Auction Process / Redemption:

Alaska uses different methods within the state to conduct tax sale auctions. Many boroughs use a 'Premium Bid' or a 'Sealed Bid' method to conduct sales. To determine the bidding method used, you will need to contact the borough municipalities. Many boroughs will allow you to register up until the day of the sale. Upon registering you will be given a bidding number which you will use to bid. The property owners may redeem the property up to the day before the auction by paying all delinquent taxes, penalties and fees.

State Resources: