|Primary Sale Type:||Redeemable Tax Deed|
|Sale Date(s):||Monthly: when available|
|Bid Type:||Premium Bidding|
|Rate of Return:||15% flat penalty|
|Redemption Period:||60 days from date of sale|
|Statute Section(s):||DE Code - Title 9, CH 87|
Delaware is a Redeemable Tax Deed state, giving the homeowner 60 days to redeem before the investor may foreclose and activate the purchased deed. Tax sales are conducted by the county sheriff, and are subject to approval by the Department of Finance (or the chief county financial officer.)
Auction Process / Redemption:
The state statutes in Delaware allow the counties more than one option to handle their tax sales. In some cases you will see a 20% penalty with a one year redemption period, or you may see a 15% penalty with 60 day redemption period. After the sale the county attorney has to approach the Supreme Court and petition for completion of the sale.
|Resource||Description||Instructions and Additional Information|
|Sussex County Tax Information||At this site, you can "Search for Tax Info"|
using a "Name Search" or a "Map Search"