|Primary Sale Type:||Tax Lien Certificate|
|Sale Date(s):||Annually: May - July|
|Rate of Return:||12% per annum, plus 5% penalty upon redemption|
|Redemption Period:||3 years from date of sale (expires after 5 years)|
|Statute Section(s):||LA Constitution - Article VII, Sec. 25 / LA Revised Statutes, Title 47|
The two most populous areas in Louisiana are East Baton Rouge (440,000+) and Jefferson (432,000+) Parish.
Louisiana is classified as a Tax Lien Certificate state, even though it's referred to as a Tax Deed for the purposes of the state Constitution. Sales are usually held between the months of May and July, and are commissioned by the local Tax Collector.
Auction Process / Redemption:
|Resource||Description||Instructions and Additional Information|
|Louisiana Sheriffs Association website:||Contract information and websites, if such exists, for the 65 Parish Sheriffs Offices.||NA|
|Police Jury Association of Louisiana website:||Contact information and websites, if such exist, for all 64 Parishes.||NA|