North Dakota

In State Info by TSL Admin

Primary Sale Type: Tax Deed
Secondary Type(s): OTC
Sale Date(s): Annually: 3rd Tuesday of November
Bid Type: Premium Bidding
Rate of Return: NA
Redemption Period: NA
Over-the-Counter: Deed
Statute Section(s): North Dakota Century Code - Title 57, CH 57-28
State Website:

State Overview:

There are 53 counties in North Dakota.

County Directory

The two most populous areas in North Dakota are Cass (123,000+) and Burleigh (69,000+) County.

Search Demographics:

North Dakota is classified as a Tax Deed state. The sales are held annually on the 3rd Tuesday in November. OTC sales are also available as county held lands throughout the year.

Auction Process / Redemption:

The 'Premium Bid' method is utilized here to determine the winning bidder. The annual sale of land acquired by tax deed must be held at the county auditor's office or the usual place of holding district court in the county. Any property not sold at the annual November sale may be sold by the county auditor at private sale before the next annual November sale for not less than the property's minimum sale price. There is no applicable redemption period or interest rate, as North Dakota is a Tax Deed state.

The sale may be made either for cash or one-fourth of the purchase price in cash, and the balance in equal annual installments over a period of not more than ten years.

State Resources:

Resource Description Instructions and Additional Information
North Dakota Records North Dakota Recorders Information Network. NA
Property Tax Search Property Tax Search North Dakota Government. NA