South Dakota

In State Info by TSL Admin

Primary Sale Type: Tax Deed
Secondary Type(s): OTC
Sale Date(s): Annually: December
Bid Type: Premium Bidding
Rate of Return: NA
Redemption Period: NA
Over-the-Counter: Deed
Statute Section(s): SD Codified Laws - Title 10, CH 22-25
State Website:

State Overview:

There are 66 counties in South Dakota.

County Directory

The two most populous areas in South Dakota are Minnehaha (169,000+) and Pennington (100,000+) County.

Search Demographics:

South Dakota is classified as a Tax Deed state, though prior to 2006 all counties were required to host tax lien certificate sales. Now counties may opt out of hosting any tax sales at all.

Auction Process / Redemption:

State Resources:

Resource Description Instructions and Additional Information
South Dakota Association of County Commissioners Contact information and websites for all 66 counties. Click the SD Counties link on the left-hand side of web page.
South Dakota Association of County Officials Contact information and county websites for all 66 County Treasurers (and Assessors.) NA