West Virginia

In State Info by TSL Admin


Primary Sale Type: Tax Lien Certificate
west-virginia
Secondary Type(s): Tax Deed / OTC
Sale Date(s): Annually: September - November
Bid Type: Premium Bidding
Rate of Return: 12% per annum
Redemption Period: 18 months from date of sale
Over-the-Counter: Deed
Statute Section(s): West Virginia Code - CH 11A
State Website: www.wv.gov

State Overview:

There are 55 counties in West Virginia.

County Directory

West Virginia Land Sales

Search Delinquent Land Properties

Search Demographics:

West Virginia is classified as a Tax Lien Certificate state. Though, select counties may also opt to offer Tax Deeds as well. The public auction of liens must be held after October 14, but before November 23. Parcels that are not bid on are held over and reoffered at the next annual lien sale. If the redemption period expires and no one has bid on the parcel, the county will offer an OTC Tax Deed.

Auction Process / Redemption:

The tax lien on each unredeemed tract or lot, shall be sold by the sheriff, at public auction, between the hours of nine in the morning and four in the afternoon. Tax Lien Certificates sold are subject to an 18 month redemption period, accruing 1% per month or 12% per annum.

There are no premiums on any over bid amount.

State Resources:

Resource Description Instructions and Additional Information
West Virginia State Website
West Virginia State County Listings Links to all counties
County Collections of
West Virginia
Commissioners' website for tax information. Auction Dates &
Delinquent Property Lists